Kirkbright-Steers Award

The Kirkbright-Steers award is a prestigious annual award that assists a promising early career scientist of any nation to attend a recognised scientific meeting or visit a place of learning. The fund for this bursary was established in 1985 as a memorial to Professor Gordon Kirkbright in recognition of his contributions to analytical spectroscopy and to science in general.  

In 2020 owing to the generosity of one of our former Trustees, an eminent Atomic Spectroscopist, Professor Edward B.M Steers, we were in a position of being able to award an Edward Steers bursary award, in addition to the long standing Gordon Kirkbright bursary award.
These awards have now merged into the
Kirkbright-Steers Award. We will award two of these a year to promising early scientists engaged in or utilising analytical spectroscopic techniques.

This award opens for applications on the 1st of November and closes for submission on the 30th November each year.


Applicants are invited to complete the Kirkbright-Steers Award application form.

The ABS Trust defines early career as being either a student, or an employee in a non-tenured academic post or in industry, within 5 years of award of PhD excluding career breaks

Your application will be reviewed by the Trustees and an email reply with the outcome should be received within 28 days of receiving your application.

If you have any questions then please email